Wednesday, 20 August 2014

Hunter and Bordill sign training contracts with Warriors

Ayr's prop George Hunter and new recruit Will Bordill have signed training contracts with Glasgow Warriors for a year.

The duo, both former Elite Development Players with the Scotstoun side, will continue to play for Ayr when they aren't required by the Warriors.

This further highlights the benefits for both the BT Premiership clubs and the professional teams of strong links between the two, something Glasgow Warriors have acknowledged in their new home kit which features the names of the Glasgow District teams printed across the front and back of the shirt.

Read the full story here.

Monday, 18 August 2014

Pro draft announced

The SRU has announced the draft of professional players who have been divided up between the ten BT Premiership clubs.

The ten players Ayr have been allocated include some familiar faces who have all turned out for the men in pink and black before.  Scrum-half Murray McConnell and stand-off Finn Russell have been drafted back to their old club as first year professionals, and Pat MacArthur returns to where it all began for the international hooker.

Also included is British and Irish Lions winger Sean Maitland and popular back row player James Eddie who made several successful appearances for Ayr last season.

The full draft:
Murray McConnell, James Eddie, Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Jon Welsh, Dougie Hall, Ryan Grant, Finn Russell, Henry Pyrgos, Pat MacArthur and Sean Maitland.

Read the full story here.

Quiz Night on Sat 23rd August

Gordon Kotze, Jim Lymburn and the under-18 team invite you all to join them this Saturday for a Quiz Night at Millbrae after the 1st XV play their pre-season friendly against Blaydon RFC.

Tables of 4-6 £20
Time - 7pm for 7.30pm start

Hot food will be available for purchase and there will be some raffles as well with all funds raised going towards the under-18 2015 South Africa Tour Fund.

Anyone who joined Gordon and Jim for their last Quiz Night will agree that it was a really enjoyable evening and a very busy one too so reserve your table early!

You can reply by messaging our Facebook page.

Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Pre-match lunch at Glasgow Hawks

Glasgow Hawks have extended an invitation to Ayr supporters to attend the pre-match lunch at Balgray, Kelvinside Academy's ground, on Saturday 6th September.

Lunch at the Miller Drummond Suite will begin two hours before kick-off and costs £25, which includes admittance to the match.

If you're interested, please contact Rona Gibson before Tuesday 2nd September on 07974 753 691 or

Friday, 8 August 2014

Seniors and U20s take on GHA

The players have been back training for the past month and many have spent their break taking part in sevens tournaments or, in the case of youngsters D'arcy Rae, James Malcolm and Gavin Lowe, competing at the Junior World Championships in New Zealand.

But for the fans, it's been several months since they've seen Ayr turn out and tomorrow will be the first match in over three months for the first XV as they take on GHA in a pre-season friendly.

It kicks off at 2.30pm at Braidholm and will be preceded by an under-20s match at 12.30pm.

Head coach Calum Forrester believes, after a rigorous pre-season, the players will be eager to get back to competing.

"Everyone is looking forward to playing tomorrow.  GHA will provide a tough opposition and the boys are looking forward to seeing old team-mate Peter Jericevich, whom alongside head coach Craig Sorbie will have a well-drilled side."

He adds: "The under-20s match beforehand will provide an excellent opportunity for last season's under-18s to experience senior rugby in what is set to be a great day."

The under-20s are coached by Gordon Kotze, who was named BT Youth Coach of the Season at the SRU Club Awards in May.

It's a great opportunity to see the new players in the senior squad in action and take a look at the young players who could be pulling on the pink and black for the first XV in the future, so do get along to Braidholm if you can.

1st XV squad:

George Hunter
Nick Cox
Fraser Watt
Stuart Fenwick
David Young
Robert McAlpine
Scott Sutherland
Graeme Williamson
James Young
Callum Templeton
Ben Johnson
Andrew Dunlop
Graham Fisken
Blair MacPherson
Gibson Siwo
Dave Armstrong
Jack Preston
Adam MacDonald
Danny McCluskey
Kerr Gossman
Dean Kelbrick
Ross Curle
Richard Dalgliesh
Cammy Taylor
Craig Gossman
Grant Anderson
Murray Beckwith

Under-20s squad:

Robbie Mackie
Stephen Naylor
William Black
Nathan Gilmore
Nicky Mckissock
Ben Paterson
Neil MacDonald
Scott Cusack
Jack Brown
Owen Gemmell
Ruaridh Bottomley
Jack Preston
Adam Macdonald
Chris Scott
Ross Anderson
David Lymburn
Ollie Craig
Blair Couper
Ian McKenzie
Ross Gilmour

Tuesday, 5 August 2014

Niamh selected for Sainsbury's Games Sevens

Ayr Ladies' Niamh Durnan has been selected in the Scotland squad taking part in the Sainsbury's School Games in Manchester.

The Scotland under-19 sevens squad will compete against seven other teams in a multi-sport event from Thursday 4th September to Sunday 7th September.

Read the full story here.

Tuesday, 29 July 2014

Raffle prizes needed!

Our eleventh Ladies' Lunch takes place on Saturday 30th August to coincide with the first match of the season against Gala and it will be raising funds for research into Hodgkin Lymphoma.

As part of the fundraising efforts, a raffle will be taking place and it would be good to have some great prizes on offer.  If you have anything you wish to donate, you can drop it into the clubhouse.

For more information please contact Eilidh at