Thursday, 21 March 2013

Aberdeen v Ayr preview

Ayr take on Aberdeen in the last Premiership match of the season on Saturday at Rubislaw.  The league title may already be in the bag, but facing Aberdeen at home will be a difficult proposition for Ayr nonetheless.

"We realise that Aberdeen have much to play for and we know that they have a good home record," says Ayr head coach Kenny Murray.  "Although we had a good victory against them this year, we anticipate that this will be a different challenge."

"The past few months have been a tense affair for our players, with every game a must-win" he continues.  "However, for the first time this season, the pressure is off us and I expect the players to play with confidence and ambition for the last league game of the season."

Murray has a near-full squad to select from, with several players returning from international action.  Prop George Hunter has overcome a long-term injury to return to the starting line-up and is joined by fellow Glasgow Elite Development player Nick Campbell, who starts in the second row.  Ross Curle takes over at fly-half as Finn Russell is unavailable.

This week will be Ayr's eighteenth defence of the Bill McLaren Shield and the players will be doing everything in their power to keep a hold of it until the end of the season.

Murray concludes: "I would like to convey my best wishes to all the coaches who are stepping down at the end of the season and in particular for making the Premiership an exciting and enjoyable league to be part of.  Our thanks also go to all the match officials who contributed to the success of the Premiership over the past year."

Team (subject to change on match day):

15.  Grant Anderson, 14. Cammy Taylor, 13. Robbie Fergusson, 12. Dean Kelbrick, 11. Craig Gossman; 10. Ross Curle, 9. Murray McConnell; 1. Denford Mutamangira, 2. Hayden Wisnewski, 3. George Hunter; 4. Scott Sutherland, 5. Nick Campbell; 6. Graham Fisken, 7. Andrew Dunlop; 8. Calum Forrester (capt).


16. D'arcy Rae, 17. Stuart Fenwick, 18. Colin White, 19. Peter Jericevich, 20. Richard Dalgleish.


No comments:

Post a Comment