Friday, 19 April 2013

RBS Cup Final preview

It's time for the pink and black army to march on Edinburgh to support Ayr in their fourth straight RBS Cup Final.  Twelve buses of fans will take the beach party to the capital to see if their team can claim the cup in the same season they have secured the league title.  With Marr playing Livingston in the Shield Final immediately before Ayr's clash with Melrose, there will be a big Ayrshire presence at Murrayfield.

Ayr stalwarts Grant Anderson, Andy Dunlop and Scott Sutherland have played in three previous finals, but for others, this is will be their first trip.

"Nerves could play a part," says Ayr head coach Kenny Murray, "but the players and coaches are looking forward to what will be a fantastic day out and we will be determined to finish the season on a high."

Selection has been tough for Murray, with almost all players fit to play.  Prop Nick Cox and Ayr's top try scorer Craig Gossman have overcome recent injuries, as have centre Dean Kelbrick and flanker Graham Fisken.

"The players have trained well this week," enthuses Murray, "particularly putting their bodies on the line during a very physical contact element on Tuesday night."

Murray is expecting a real battle against Melrose, whom Ayr have faced twice before in the Cup Final.

"The previous finals have been very tight with only the odd point separating the teams.  No doubt this will be the same situation on Saturday."

As well as the chance of yet another opportunity to bag the cup for both sides, it is also the final time Melrose coach Craig Chalmers will marshal his men. 

"I look forward to locking horns with Craig for one last time before he moves on to pastures new," Murray says.  "We recognise the excitement surrounding this game but ultimately it will come down to which team performs best on the day."

15. Grant Anderson, 14. Richard Dalgleish, 13. Robbie Fergusson, 12. Dean Kelbrick, 11. Craig Gossman; 10. Ross Curle, 9. Peter Jericevich; 1. Denford Mutamangira, 2. Hayden Wisnewski, 3. George Hunter; 4. Scott Sutherland, 5. Colin White; 6. Ross Doneghan, 7. Andrew Dunlop, 8. Calum Forrester (capt).

16. Nick Cox, 17. Stuart Fenwick, 18. D'arcy Rae, 19. Graham Fisken, 20. Peter McCallum, 21. Murray McConnell, 22. Cammy Taylor.

Kick-off 4pm. 

Tickets will be available from the club until 10pm tonight and at the Murrayfield Ticket Office tomorrow, but if you are unable to make it, follow the scores live on Twitter or listen to commentary on BBC Radio Scotland.


No comments:

Post a Comment