Friday, 12 December 2014

Ayr v Stirling County preview

Everyone will be hoping that the festive good cheer at Millbrae won't just be confined to the club's Christmas party on Saturday night as Ayr take on Stirling County in the final match of 2014.

The BT Premiership has only six remaining rounds, and with Heriot's having supplanted Ayr at the top of the table after the latter's loss to Hawick last weekend and County trying to dislodge Gala from fourth place, there really is all to play for.

"Last week was very disappointing for us with regards to how we started the game," says Ayr head coach Calum Forrester.  "We were slow to get going and Hawick took their chances well.  We cannot afford to do the same again this week against a strong Stirling, who are now within touching distance of the top four and a play-off spot."

Ayr will be boosted by the return of full-back Grant Anderson after several weeks on the sidelines through injury, meaning Craig Gossman moves back to the wing. 

Glasgow Warriors have released hooker Dougie Hall and prop Jerry Yanuyanutawa, who bolster an already strong bench.

The Cairdeas Quaich, provided by County's main sponsor United Auctions to mark the friendship between the two clubs, is again up for grabs, and the men in pink and black will be eager to retain the trophy and get the Christmas break off to a good start.

15. Grant Anderson; 14. Craig Gossman, 13. Ross Curle, 12. Dean Kelbrick (capt), 11. Robbie Fergusson; 10. Danny McCluskey, 9. David Armstrong; 1. George Hunter, 2. Fergus Scott, 3. D'arcy Rae; 4. Robert McAlpine, 5. Scott Sutherland; 6. Callum Templeton, 7. Will Bordill, 8. Blair Macpherson.

Replacements from:
Dougie Hall, Jerry Yanuyanutawa, Andrew Dunlop, Graham Fisken, Kerr Gossman, Cameron Taylor.

Stirling County:
15. Jeff Hope; 14. Matt Lamb, 13. Cammy Hughes, 12. Danny Gilmour, 11. Rory Hughes; 10. Fraser Lyle, 9. Ali Price; 1. Jamie Bhatti, 2. Reyner Kennedy, 3. Gerry Mountford; 4. Ruaridh Leishman, 5. Euan Dewar; 6. Struan Robertson, 7. Shaun McDonald, 8. Lewis Wynne.


Kick-off 3pm!  Follow scores live on Twitter.

No comments:

Post a Comment