Friday, 27 October 2017

Ayr v Watsonians preview

Ayr welcome Watsonians 1st and 2nd XVs to Millbrae on Saturday for matches in the BT Premiership and BT National Reserve 1 respectively, with both matches kicking off at 3pm.

On a run of impressive wins of late, Ayr are hoping to keep it going against the visitors from Myreside, who are sitting seventh in the crowded mid-table of the BT Premiership.

"We will need to make sure we start well against a dangerous Watsonians side," says Ayr RFC head coach Calum Forrester. "They have threats right across the park, with a big, physical set of forwards that we will need to stop at source to prevent the ball getting to the pace that they have out wide."

Ayr have plenty of pace themselves, with Glasgow Warriors' Brandon Thomson starting at full-back for the first time, Paddy Dewhirst at fly-half, and speedsters Scott Lyle and Craig Gossman on the wings.

With Stafford McDowall called up to the Warriors for their Pro14 match with the Southern Kings at Scotstoun tonight, Frazier Climo moves into the centre alongside Danny McCluskey.

Blair Macpherson takes his place on the bench after recovering from injury, as does Robin Hislop who could make his BT Premiership debut. The prop pulled on a pink and black shirt in the British and Irish Cup six years ago, and joined Ayr in earnest this summer from Doncaster.

Ayr 1st XV
15. Brandon Thomson; 14. Scott Lyle, 13. Danny McCluskey, 12. Frazier Climo, 11. Craig Gossman; 10. Paddy Dewhirst, 9. Harry Warr; 1. George Hunter, 2. Lewis Anderson, 3. Adam Prentice; 4. Jonathan Agnew, 5. Scott Sutherland; 6. Tommy Spinks, 7. George Stokes, 8. Pete McCallum (c).

16. David Young, 17. Robin Hislop, 18. Blair Macpherson, 19. Jamie Bova, 20. Grant Anderson.

Kick-off 3pm. Follow the scores live on Twitter

After a fantastic ten-try win against Edinburgh Accies last week, Ayr 2nd XV come into this match full of confidence, but, like the 1st XV, they know they will have a tough challenge against Watsonians, who sit a place above them in the table.

They are boosted by the return of winger Cameron Taylor, hooker Stuart Collier and second row Michael Badenhorst, who rejoin a dynamic squad.

Ayr 2nd XV
15. Sam Gray; 14. Cameron Taylor, 13. James Armstrong, 12. Sam Graham, 11. Euan Hamilton; 10. James Pinkerton, 9. Lewis Young; 1. Ben Paterson, 2. Stuart Collier, 3. Ruairidh Sayce; 4. Michael Badenhorst, 5. Logan Richardson; 6. Craig Brown, 7. Gregor Henry, 8. Cameron Reece.

16. Seth Rae, 17. Fraser Miller, 18. Alan Miller, 19. Jack Brown, 20. William Chan.

Kick-off 3pm. Follow the scores live via the Ultimate Rugby app.

No comments:

Post a Comment