Friday, 10 October 2014

Ayr v Currie preview

Ayr welcome Currie to Millbrae on Saturday for the men in pink and black's fourth home game of this season's BT Premiership.

Although Ayr had a heartening away win over Boroughmuir last weekend, head coach Calum Forrester knows his team will need to get out of the blocks quicker tomorrow.

"Matches between Ayr and Currie have been hard-fought physical encounters recently and we cannot afford to start this week the way that we started last."

He adds: "Ben (Cairns, Currie head coach) has a well-drilled side and we will need to be at our best on Saturday."

The players' minds will no doubt be firmly on the match, but for everyone else involved at Millbrae, the return of Robbie Fergusson will be at the forefront of their thoughts ahead of this fixture.  The twenty-one-year-old was due to play his first game for the second XV last week after his successful treatment for Hodgkin Lymphoma but the match was called off.  Now he's named on the bench to face Currie tomorrow.

"Robbie has been an inspiration to everyone who knows him with his positive attitude and the determination he has shown to get through the past eight months," says Forrester, "and he has looked as sharp as ever in training."

Also making comebacks are Ross Curle, who starts at outside centre, with Richard Dalgleish moving to the wing, and Callum Templeton, who partners Scott Sutherland in the second row.

George Hunter and Stuart Fenwick start at prop and hooker respectively and Glasgow Warriors have released Murray McConnell, who takes his place amongst the substitutes.

15. Grant Anderson, 14. Richard Dalgleish, 13. Ross Curle, 12. Dean Kelbrick (capt), 11. Kerr Gossman; 10. Danny McCluskey, 9. David Armstrong; 1. George Hunter, 2. Stuart Fenwick, 3. Fraser Watt; 4. Callum Templeton, 5. Scott Sutherland; 6. Graham Fisken, 7. Ben Johnston, 8. Blair Macpherson.

16. James Malcolm, 17. D'arcy Rae, 18. Craig Brown, 19. Murray McConnell, 20. Robbie Fergusson.

15. Matt McPhillips, 14. Fidias Efthymiou, 13. Richie Vernon, 12. Joe Reynolds, 11. Ruaridh Smith; 10. James Semple, 9. Richard Sneddon; 1. John Cox, 2. Matt Goodwin, 3. Alistair Hamilton; 4. Romain Denonain, 5. Jamie Gray; 6. Mike Vernel, 7. Malcolm Peacock, 8. Ross Weston (capt).

16. Graeme Carson, 17. Mike Erskine, 18. Travis Brooke, 19. Marko Mladenovic, 20. Chris Logan.

Kick-off 3pm!  Follow live scores on Twitter.

No comments:

Post a Comment